Frequently Asked Questions

Do you offer video/teletherapy sessions or in-person options? 

Yes! Our office for in-person sessions is located in City Park West in Denver, Colorado. We are licensed in both Colorado and Illinois, and can conduct telehealth sessions with clients who reside anywhere in these states. 

How long are sessions? 

Standard sessions are 50 min. With relationship/couples therapy especially, longer ("intensive") sessions can be helpful - usually 2.5 hours. Contact for intensive options and rates. 

If you're traveling to Denver and looking for a one-time intensive session, or would like to arrange a series of intensive sessions for you and your partner, contact We find that short-term, solution-focused work with couples navigating changes (grief, parenting, consensual non-monogamy, affair recovery, etc.) can be very helpful.

What are your favorite resources to share with clients?

So many to share! Here's some favorite books:

Looking for a great local bookstore in your area? I highly recommend supporting Women and Children First (Chicago) and MATTER (Denver). 

What are my rights under the new No Surprises Act/Good Faith Estimate requirement?

Under the law, health care providers need to give patients who don’t have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services. 

• You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services. This includes related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, equipment, and hospital fees. 

• You can request that any provider at Courtney Bilbrey, LCSW, provide you with Good Faith Estimate in writing at least 1 business day before your medical service or item. You can also ask your health care provider, and any other provider you choose, for a Good Faith Estimate before you schedule an item or service. 

• If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill. 

• Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate. For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit or call the Colorado Division of Insurance at 303-894-7490 or 1-800-930-3745.